ICC World T20 2007: India win inaugural title

first_imgWhen the inaugural edition of the ICC World T20 was held in South Africa nearly a decade ago, fans, experts and even some players viewed the shortest format of the game with scepticism. The Indian Premier League (first held in 2008) was still seven months away and T20 cricket had not yet taken the Indian public by storm.But all the cynicism was laid to rest after once the tournament got underway. Chris Gayle’s 57-ball 117 helped West Indies post a staggering 205/6 in their 20 overs against South Africa in the opening game at the Wanderers. The Proteas, riding on Herschelle Gibbs’ 90 not out chased the target down with eight wickets and 14 balls to spare! That set the tone for the rest of the tournament. Crowds flocked to the grounds in anticipation of more such carnages. And did they get their fill.But the surprise package of the first ever ICC World T20 was India – after Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly and Rahul Dravid pulled out, the captaincy was handed over to a Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who led a young team with no T20 experience to glory.Packed with power-hitters and spectacular fielders, India were on the rampage right through their campaign. They started off with a thriller against Pakistan and prevailed in a bowl-out (after a washout against Scotland), before overcoming England, South Africa and Australia to set up a title clash against their arch-rivals in Johannesburg.Dhoni’s astute leadership and cool head meant India lifted the trophy after beating Pakistan by five runs in yet another nail-biter.advertisementlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *